

Councilmember Mike Thompson Vice-President



Judge Linda Grant Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky
Executive Director

MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

The Heart of Texas Council of Governments' Executive Committee, in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, met in regular session, on Thursday, the 27th Day of August, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. at the Heart of Texas Council of Governments, 1514 South New Road, Waco, Texas, by "Virtual/Telephone Conferencing", (as approved by the Texas Attorney General).

Join the meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone

https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/807569789

You can also dial in using your phone. United States (Toll Free): 1 877 309 2073 Access Code: 807-569-789

Members Present

Judge Don Pool, President **Bosque County** Councilmember Mike Thompson, Vice-President City of Groesbeck Judge Linda Grant, Secretary-Treasurer Freestone County Judge Justin Lewis Hill County Judge Jay Elliott Falls County Judge Scott Felton McLennan County Freestone County Co. Treasurer Jeannie Keeney Commissioner Nita Wuebker Falls County Councilmember John Kinnaird City of Waco Councilmember Jim Holmes City of Waco City of Waco Mayor Kyle Deaver Mr. Calvin Rueter **Special Districts**

Members Absent

Commissioner Kelly Snell McLennan County
Councilmember Jimmy Rogers City of Robinson
Mayor Andy Smith City of Hillsboro
Mayor Johnnie Hauerland City of Meridian

Staff Present

Russell Devorsky

John C. Minnix

Executive Director

Dep. Exec. Director of Administration

Gary Luft Mary McDow Dorthy Jackson Tim Jeske Dep. Exec. Director of HHS Personnel Manager Regional Economic Development Manager Homeland Security Manager

Visitors Present:

- Call to Order and Determination of a Quorum
 President Don Pool called the meeting to order, roll call, and determined that a quorum was present.
- II. Proof of Posting of notice in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, known as the Texas Open Meetings Act.Proof of posting of the meeting was confirmed by Mary McDow.
- III. Introduction of Guests
 Guests and staff members introduced themselves.
- IV. Consideration of and/or action on the following:
 - A. Approval of the June 25, 2020 meeting minutes

President Don Pool asked if there were any corrections to the minutes. There being none, a motion was made by Judge Jay Elliott and seconded by Mr. Calvin Rueter to approve the June 25, 2020 minutes as presented. Motion passed.

B. New Business

 Maintenance MOA between Heart of Texas Rural Transit District and Waco Transit System

Mr. Gary Luft stated the existing Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with Waco Transit System (WTS) has expired. During the expiration period Waco Transit honored the terms and rates in the original MOA. Mr. Luft noted staff has updated the MOA with Waco Transit System, Inc. to include the following changes:

- 1. This MOA becomes effective when fully executed by both parties or July 1, 2020, whichever is later. This MOA shall remain in effect until July 30, 2023 and includes an option to renew for two additional years unless terminated or modified in an Amendment executed by both parties.
- 2. Invoices from WTS will be sent to RTD no later than 30 days from date of service, and an itemized description of all work performed will be provided.
- 3. All invoicing for the current fiscal year must be submitted no later than ten (10) calendar days after the end of the current fiscal year.
- 4. Number of vehicles owned was revised to reflect our current number of vehicles at twenty-three (23).

- 5. Counties of service was updated to remove McLennan County. Current counties serviced are Bosque, Falls, Freestone, Limestone, and Hill.
- 6. Hourly shop rates for WTS was increased to \$68.00 per shop hour, previously listed at \$48.00/hr.

A motion was made by Judge Jay Elliott and seconded by Judge Justin Lewis to approve the amended Maintenance Memorandum of Agreement with Waco Transit System. Motion passed.

2. Recommendation for HOTCOG Executive Committee Officer

Mr. Devorsky noted that Groesbeck Councilmember Michael Thompson who currently serves as HOTCOG Officer in the Vice-President position will be leaving the area and moving to Arkansas. As a result, a replacement is needed for the Secretary/Treasurer position.

Judge Justin Lewis made a motion to recommend Councilmember Jim Holmes, City of Waco to serve as Secretary-Treasurer of HOTCOG. As a result, Judge Linda Grant will move up to the Vice-President position. The motion was seconded by Judge Elliott. Motion passed.

3. Recommendation for TARC Board Member Representative

Mr. Devorsky noted that Councilmember Thompson also serves on the TARC Board as representative for HOTCOG and a replacement is needed.

A motion was made by Judge Lewis and seconded by Judge Elliott to recommend Councilmember Jim Holmes, City of Waco to serve and represent HOTCOG on the TARC Board. Motion passed.

C. Report of the Executive Director and Staff

- 1. Department of Administration
 - a. Financial, Personnel and Investment Reports
 Mr. Minnix presented the Financial, Personnel and Investment Reports to the Executive Committee.
 - b. Draft 2020-2021 Budget Document (under separate cover)
 Mr. Minnix presented a draft of the FY2020-2021 Budget to the Executive Committee and discussed the highlights. Mr. Minnix noted that some of the figures are based on planning figures from funding sources and the numbers will be changing. The final FY20-21 Budget document will be presented in more detail at the September meeting for approval.

2. Health & Human Services

a. Department Activities Report

Mr. Luft gave the departmental activities report for Area Agency on Aging, the Aging and Disability Resource Center, 2-1-1 Information and Referral and the Rural Transit District programs. Mr. Lusk noted that the Area Agency on Aging has been able to help individuals with dental work, hearing aides and vision because of the CARES Act funding that has been received; normally the AAA would not have funding or be able to provide for those services.

3. Regional Services

a. Department Activities Report

Mrs. Jackson gave the activities report for the economic and community development programs. Mrs. Jackson noted that the HOTEDD was awarded extra funding (CARES Act Recovery Assistance) from the Economic Development Administration (EDA) that covers the next two years for specific planning activities in relation to COVID-19, including training, website development and the 2020-2025 CEDS (Comprehensive Economic Development Strategies) development. The parameters for the grant are listed in the staff report in the packet.

Under the Solid Waste report, Mrs. Jackson noted that the Solid Waste Projects for 20/21 were approved in April 2020 by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality(TCEQ) but projects have been set back due to COVID-19. All FY20 participants will have until July 2021 to complete their projects.

4. Executive Director's Report

Mr. Russell Devorsky gave the following report:

- The County Judges will be nationally recognized by the National Association of Development Organizations for the Alice Ann Wolbrook Humanitarian Award for their work in the Grocery project, providing food to 133 individuals in each county. Judge Pool gave a special thanks to Judge Lewis and Hill County for their work in organizing and providing the warehouse for distribution.
- On behalf of the Board, a special thanks to Councilmember Mike Thompson for serving as an Officer and member of the Executive Committee and also for service on the TARC Board.
- Recognition of staff member Dorthy Jackson. Mrs. Jackson is assisting the NCTCOG with their Economic Development Administration (EDA) grants as requested by EDA.
- V. Other Reports None.
- VI. Public Comment None.

VII.	Adjournment – The meeting was adjourned.	
Don P	ool, President	Linda Grant, Secretary Treasurer
	e County Judge	Freestone County Judge