Judge Linda Grant
President

Councilmember Jim Holmes Vice-President



Judge Jay Elliott
Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky
Executive Director

MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

The Heart of Texas Council of Governments' Executive Committee, in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, met in regular session, on Thursday, the 24th Day of June, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. at the Heart of Texas Council of Governments, 1514 South New Road, Waco, Texas. The meeting can also be accessed by "Virtual/Telephone Conferencing", (as approved by the Texas Attorney General): https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/782078045; or dial in using your phone: United States (Toll Free): 1 866 899 4679.

Access Code: 782-078-045

Members Present

Councilmember Jim Holmes, Vice-President City of Waco Falls County Judge Jay Elliott, Secretary-Treasurer Judge Scott Felton McLennan County Judge Richard Duncan Limestone County Judge Cindy Vanlandingham Bosque County Judge Justin Lewis Hill County Commissioner Nita Wuebker Falls County Councilmember Jimmy Rogers City of Robinson Co. Treasurer Jeannie Keeney Freestone County Commissioner Jim Smith McLennan County Mayor Andy Smith City of Hillsboro Mayor Geary Smith City of Mexia

Members Absent

Judge Linda Grant, PresidentFreestone CountyMayor Dillon MeekCity of WacoMr. Calvin RueterSpecial DistrictsMayor Johnnie HauerlandCity of Meridian

Staff Present

Russell Devorsky

John C. Minnix

Dep. Exec. Director of Administration

Mary McDow

Personnel Manager

Dorthy Jackson

Regional Economic Development Manager

Tim Jeske

Homeland Security Manager

Visitors/Guest

Todd Pruitt Daniel Thompson Tom Smith Pattillo, Brown & Hill HOT MHMR Executive Director Rapoport Foundation

AGENDA

I. Call to Order and Determination of a Quorum

Vice President Jim Holmes called the meeting to order and determined that a quorum was present.

- II. Proof of Posting of notice in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, known as the Texas Open Meetings Act. Proof of posting was provided by Mary McDow.
- III. Introduction of Guests. Guests and staff were introduced.
- IV. Consideration of and/or action on the following:
 - A. Approval of the April 22, 2021 meeting minutes

Councilmember Jim Holmes asked if there were any corrections to the minutes. There being none, a motion was made by Councilmember Jimmy Rogers and seconded by Commissioner Nita Wuebker to approve the April 22, 2021 meeting minutes. Motion passed.

B. New Business

1. FY2020 Audit Report, Auditors Communication Letter to those charged with governance and HOTCOG's comments

Mr. John Minnix introduced Mr. Todd Pruitt from Pattillo, Brown & Hill to present the FY2020 Audit Report to the committee. Mr. Pruitt stated that Pattillo, Brown & Hill were engaged to perform a single audit for HOTCOG which includes two separate components, audit of financial statements and a compliance of HOTCOG's federal and state grant awards programs. Mr. Pruitt gave a review of the audit and stated there were no findings or questioned costs.

A motion was made by Judge Richard Duncan and seconded by Judge Scott Felton to approve the FY2020 Audit Report and Auditors Communication Letter to those charged with governance and authorize the Executive Director to forward copies of said reports to the appropriate Federal and State agencies. Motion passed.

2. Presentation concerning TDA and HUD Section 3 goals of the CDBG program

Mrs. Dorthy Jackson gave a presentation on the Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Section 3 goals of the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program. Mrs. Jackson explained that the Texas Department of Agriculture, in response to HUD's requirement of facilitating general employment opportunity information for Section 3 Workers, requires that all grant recipients that receive Texas CDBG funding be provided information about the program in an open meeting of the organization. HOTCOG receives grant funding from the TxCDBG program as technical assistance to the Region. Mrs. Jackson provided the information to the Executive Committee as required, through a power point presentation.

C. Report of the Executive Director and Staff

1. Department of Administration

a. Financial and Personnel Report

Mr. John Minnix presented the Financial and Personnel reports to the committee for review.

2. Health & Human Services

a. Department Activities Report

Mr. Russell Devorsky stated that the Health and Human Services departmental activity reports in detail were in the packet for review.

3. Regional Services

a. Department Activities Report

Mrs. Dorthy Jackson gave a staff report on the Economic and Community Development activities.

4. Executive Director's Report

Mr. Russell Devorsky gave a report on staff activities for the month of June. Staff continue to attend Chamber of Commerce meetings in the Region. It was noted that Judge Justin Lewis was voted the "Man of the Year' at the Whitney Chamber of Commerce Banquet. Mr. Devorsky was elected to serve on the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) Board of Directors for Region 10. Mr. Devorsky asked for direction from the committee on the new "Juneteenth" federal holiday and as to whether or not the counties/cities had added it to their holidays. Most of the counties commissioner's courts had added the federal holiday or were considering it.

V. Other Reports

Mr. Devorsky introduced Mr. Daniel Thompson, Executive Director of the Heart of Texas MHMR. Mr. Thompson addressed future goals and objectives of the HOTMHMR.

VI.	Public Comment – None.	
VII.	Adjournment - There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned.	
Linda Grant, President		Jay Elliott, Secretary Treasurer
Freestone County Judge		Falls County Judge