Judge Linda Grant
President

Councilmember Jim Holmes Vice-President



Judge Jay Elliott
Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky
Executive Director

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

The Heart of Texas Council of Governments Executive Committee, in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, met in regular session, on Thursday, the 22nd Day of July 2021, at 2:00 p.m., at the Heart of Texas Council of Governments, 1514 South New Road, Waco, Texas by *Virtual/Telephone Conferencing (as approved by the Texas Attorney General)*. https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/356389549

You can also dial in using your phone.United States (Toll Free): 1 866 899 4679

Access Code: 356-389-549

Members Present

Judge Linda Grant, President Freestone County City of Waco Councilmember Jim Holmes, Vice-President Judge Jay Elliott, Secretary-Treasurer **Falls County** Judge Justin Lewis Hill County Judge Cindy Vanlandingham **Bosque County** Commissioner Nita Wuebker Falls County Councilmember Jimmy Rogers City of Robinson Co. Treasurer Jeannie Keeney Freestone County Mayor Geary Smith City of Mexia Councilmember Andrea Barefield City of Waco

Members Absent

Judge Scott FeltonMcLennan CountyJudge Richard DuncanLimestone CountyMayor Dillon MeekCity of WacoMr. Calvin RueterSpecial DistrictsCommissioner Jim SmithMcLennan CountyMayor Andy SmithCity of HillsboroMayor Johnnie HauerlandCity of Meridian

Staff Present

Russell Devorsky

Mary McDow

Personnel Manager

Dorthy Jackson

Falen Bohannon

Harold Ferguson

Amy Derrick

Executive Director

Personnel Manager

Regional Economic Development Manager

Environmental/Economic Dev, Coordinator

Economic Development Planner

Emergency Preparedness Planner

Visitors/Guest

AGENDA

I. Call to Order and Determination of a Quorum

President Linda Grant called the meeting to order (roll call) and determined that a quorum was present.

II. Proof of Posting of notice in accordance with Chapter 551, Texas Government Code, as amended, known as the Texas Open Meetings Act.

Proof of posting was provided by Mary McDow.

III. Introduction of Guests

Guests introduced themselves.

IV. Consideration of and/or action on the following:

A. New Business

1. Resolution to apply for Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) grant for the Texas Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program (TEMAP) Round 2.

Mrs. Dorthy Jackson stated the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) has opened Round 2 of the Texas Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program (TEMAP) grant program. This grant is for \$500,000 to provide assistance to low-and moderate-income (LMI) persons who were affected by the Covid-19 pandemic. The coverage area will be all of the HOTCOG region unless TDHCA awards other entities within the region this grant. TDHCA will inform HOTCOG which areas they will cover after their determination of grant awards. TDHCA requested that we ask for full coverage so that citizens whose communities do not apply for this program will still have the ability to seek mortgage relief. HOTCOG staff will be administering this program for all of the region. Mrs. Jackson provided a spread sheet of the allocation of funds per county. A resolution was presented for approval giving the executive director the signature authority to apply for the funding.

A motion was made by Judge Jay Elliott and seconded by Commissioner Nita Wuebker to approve and give HOTCOG staff authority to apply for the Texas Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program Round 2; a Community Development Block Grant Cares Act program CFDA #14.228 through the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs in the amount up to \$500,000; and appointing Executive Director, Russell Devorsky, the authorization signatory authority to sign

and execute contractual documents as per the resolution presented. Motion passed.

2. Regional Solid Waste Advisory Committee appointment

Mrs. Falen Bohannon presented a recommendation for the appointment of Kody Patillo, Assistant Director of Solid Waste for the City of Waco to serve a 2 year term on the Solid Waste Advisory Committee.

A motion was made by Judge Jay Elliott and seconded by Judge Justin Lewis to approve the appointment of Kody Patillo to the Solid Waste Advisory Committee. Motion passed.

3. Approval of Regional Solid Waste Management Plan, Volume 1

Mrs. Bohannon stated that the Regional Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) met on July 22, 2021 to review the changes made to the Regional Solid Waste Management Plan (RSWMP) Volume 1 as requested by Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. The SWAC recommended that the Regional Solid Management Plan Volume 1 be approved in conformance with the Heart of Texas Regional Solid Waste Management Volume II Update that was conducted and approved in 2013.

A motion was made by Judge Jay Elliott and seconded by Mayor Geary Smith to approve the Regional Solid Waste Management Plan Volume 1 as presented. Motion passed.

- B. Report of the Executive Director No report.
- V. Other Reports None.
- VI. Public Comment None.
- VII. Adjournment. A motion and second was made to adjourn. Motion passed.

Linda Grant, President	Jay Elliott, Secretary Treasurer
Freestone County Judge	Falls County Judge