

Judge Richard Duncan Vice-President



Councilmember Jimmy Rogers

Secretary/Treasurer

Russell Devorsky
Executive Director

Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee Meeting 9:30 AM, Wednesday, September 11th, 2024 HOTCOG – 1514 S. New Road, Waco, Texas

I. Welcome and Introductions

- **A.** Guest recognition:
 - Andy Davis (HOTCOG)
 - Wayne Stovall (HOTCOG)
 - Madison Pigg (TX AgriLife)
 - Chris Meyers (HOTRAC)
- **B.** Member introductions:
 - Rob Bergerson
 - Phillip Cantrell
 - Chris Cary
 - Nancy Cross
 - Ryan Dirker
 - Michael Graham
 - Matt Groveton
 - Danny Guerra

- Matthew Schlaefer (TAMFS)
- Tim Jeske (Waco OEM)
- Martin Widtfeldt (TDEM)
- Jennifer Goff (TDEM)
- Tom Hemrick (Chair)
- Robert LaFoy
- Jeremy Shipley
- Terry Townley
- Buffy Waldie (Vice Chair)
- Jeff Watkins
- Heather Wheeler

II. Determination of Quorum

Tom Hemrick determined a quorum was present.

III. Proof of Posting

- Andy Davis confirmed proof of posting.

IV. Public Comment

- Andy Davis informed the committee that Madison Pigg, who was present, would replace Shane McLellan as the agricultural representative member.

V. Sub-Committee Reports

- No sub-committee reports. However, Tom Hemrick suggested that HOTCOG staff organize a communications sub-committee meeting soon.

VI. Chair's Report

- None

VII. HOTCOG Staff Reports

- A. 2025 SHSP Funding Update
 - Andy Davis gave an update on the SHSP 2025 funding status, which appears to be in the final stages of review. He explained which projects were expected to be funded and that the statement of grant award (SOGA) should be released any day.

VIII. New Business - Consideration of and/or Action On

A. Review, Discuss, and Approval of July 3rd, 2024 - EPAC Meeting Minutes

A Voluntary Association of Local Governments

 $\circ~$ Nancy Cross motioned to approve the July 3^{rd} minutes, Michael Graham seconded, and the motion passed.

B. Review of Potential SHSP Scoring Changes

 Andy Davis presented possible changes to the scoring meeting procedures such as an additional 5 minutes to review the eGrant snapshot, using time during the January meeting to prepare for the February scoring meeting, and modifying the current scoring sheets to reflect the regional and state interest in priorities.

C. Vice President Officer Appointment

 Tom Hemrick opened the floor for nominations of a candidate. Jeff Watkins made a motion for the nomination of Buffy Waldie to be reappointed as Vice President. Heather Wheeler seconded the motion and a call for a vote was made. The vote was held and the nomination for Buffy Waldie to remain Vice Chair passed.

IX. Announcements or Future Business Items

A. SHSP Grant Workshop Schedule

O Andy Davis directed the committee to the available webpage that displayed the scheduled grant workshops that are to be held in October. A discussion was held between members regarding the necessity of the workshops and possible modifications for virtual accommodation. Members emphasized the need to provide scoring sheet examples to potential applicants during the workshops for more accurate and polished grant applications.

B. THIRA/SPR Planning Meetings

o Andy Davis announced that the THIRA/SPR planning meetings will be held in future months, and specific dates will be determined later.

X. Next EPAC Meeting

Wednesday, November 13th, 2024, at 9:30 AM at the HOTCOG

XI. Adjournment

- Chris Cary made a motion to adjourn the meeting, Danny Guerra seconded the motion, and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 10:10 AM.